Here’s what you need to know when contacting a criminal defense or family lawyer for the first time.
Note that all DUI offenders who had a passenger under the age of 16 in the vehicle at the time of offense must complete 25 days community service in a children benefiting program.
The legal limits in Illinois on a breathalyzer is 0.08. That equates to about 2 drinks an hour, depending on your weight, metabolism and prior consumption. Remember what Scott always says, 2 is super, 3 take an uber.
If an officer believes that you are under the influence, they can request you to conduct field sobriety tests. The first test consists of the HGN test, which is to test and track your eyes. The second test is the walk and turn. The third test is the one leg stand. If you fail to comply with these tests, the officer can request that you do chemical tests. You can also be arrested if there are other signs of impairment such as erratic driving, balance issues, slurred speech, bloodshot eyes.
If you are charged with a DUI and there is a minor in your car, you can also be charged with child endangerment, which carries a possible maximum sentence of 365 days in jail, or a fine of up to $2,500. Collaterally, DCFS will also open investigation if you have a job with children. It can stay on your record for almost 10 years.
DUI penalties actually escalate the more arrests you have.
First Time Offense
You're looking at jail time of up to 365 days and a fine of $2,500 plus mandatory fees in the state of Illinois.
Second Time or Repeat Offense
If this is your second repeated offense, we're talking about mandatory jail time, minimum 5 days community service and a fine up to $2,500.
Third Time Offense
Can be Class 2 Felony, which carries a possible sentence of 3-7 years in the Illinois Department of Corrections.